Sins & Scandals

Moving Right Along

I may potentially be the world’s worst blogger. Which is funny, because when I first started blogging, I posted daily. Of course, that was years ago before writing books replaced my blogging in my morning routine. I keep telling myself I’m going to step up my game, but when faced with only two hours to write before trudging off to the day job, I generally opt for working on my next manuscript, deadlines looming over my head waggling a finger at me. So for my lacklustre blogging, I most humbly apologize. I will try to do better. Really. Swear.

There’s been plenty going on since the last post. The snow has finally melted. You’d think because it’s July this would be a given but there was sooooo much of it I was beginning to wonder if I’d ever see green grass again. Thankfully, Mother Nature relented and I can honestly say this is the first week that it actually feels like summer temperatures. Living on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean has its downside apparently.

I’ve managed to keep busy, however. I’ve been diligently working on SURRENDER TO SCANDAL, Book 5 in The Sins & Scandals Series. It will be available August 25, 2015. This will be Benedict’s story and I’ve had a lot of fun writing this book. I think I found the new Earl of Glenmor the perfect heroine. I’ve also discovered a few new characters as well who will eventually get their own books. 

With Benedict’s story, we come to the end of what I think of as the core characters–the ones introduced in the very first book and the ones who were originally meant to encompass the entire series. At the time I thought The Sins & Scandals Series was to be four books with a possible novella thrown in to answer the questions surrounding Nicholas Sheridan, the Earl of Blackbourne’s parentage. What I hadn’t anticipated was all these secondary characters who arrived on the scene and demanded their own stories. The more I got to know them, the more curious I became and, well, needless to say the series has expanded to twice its original size, perhaps even a bit more than that. But in moving away from the core group, I decided to do a bit of a cover refresh which you will see with Book 6, A SINNER NO MORE. For those of you subscribed to my newsletter, you’ll get a first peek coming in the next few weeks!

Also coming out September 15, 2015 is my latest Harlequin Historical release, THE COWBOY OF CHRISTMAS PAST. This is a novella length story that is part of the Christmas Anthology, Dreaming of a Western Christmas. It’s up for pre-order now, so feel free to pop over to my Books page for all the links. 

But it isn’t all work and no play. My hubby and I will be hitting New York City for a week and before that will be relaxing at a cottage on the beach on Prince Edward Island. Can’t wait to get some R&R! Although, to be honest, I will have my notebook with me in both cases because I’m working on a mainstream fiction book that takes place in NYC, tentatively titled BROKEN PIECES, as well as working on the outline for A SINNER NO MORE, so…. 🙂

Hope you all are having a wonderful summer!


And So It Grows

With the exception of the first two books I wrote (one a YA which is collecting dust and the other a western which will be dusted off, revised and published eventually), I have always written in series. I don’t mean to. For instance, when I wrote THE OUTLAW BRIDE a billion years ago, it was only meant to be a ‘one of’. Then again, perhaps subconsciously I had other plans given that I did put two other mail order brides on that train…

But regardless, even when I start out with what I think will be a 3 book series, it has a tendency to grow beyond the confines I set out for it. The Brides of Fatal Bluff Series eventually expanded beyond THE OUTLAW BRIDE to encompass the other two mail order brides on the train. But that was it. No more! Except, after the release of THE OUTLAW BRIDE, one reader wrote to ask me what the saloon keeper, Garrett Bentley’s story was, and then another reader said she wanted to read bounty hunter Ed Devers story. Soon I started wondering too and the next thing I knew, my three book series had morphed into five. Although, if you’re looking, THE OUTLAW BRIDE is the only one currently available, but I promise the others will be written soon.

The same issue cropped up when I wrote SALVATION IN THE RANCHER’S ARMS. It was a ‘one-of’. Get in, get out. No fuss, no muss. Except…then there was this sheriff in the story and, well, SALVATION IN THE SHERIFF’S KISS will be out in February 2015. But then I’m done! Except…as I was writing that one this other guy showed up… Kincaid’s story is slotted to be written next year.

So when I sat down to write AN INVITATION TO SCANDAL I suspected I was in trouble when Nicholas’s friends showed up on the page. “Well fine,” I muttered as these characters insisted on having their own stories. “But it’s only going to be a trilogy and that’s it!”  Except that left Abigail’s brother Benedict with no happy ending. “Fine. One more then, but then I’m done!” (SURRENDER TO SCANDAL 2015). Except…then I started wondering what happened to a certain courtesan who showed up in AN INVITATION TO SCANDAL. “Fine,” I huffed. “But you are only getting a novella.” (SINS OF A SOLDIER 2015)

Except…then my imagination wandered over to Miss Eugenie Caldwell from AN INVITATION TO SCANDAL. You know, that poor girl has two younger sisters and no male heir to inherit their father’s rather dismally small fortune and title. I gritted my teeth. I suppose I could  give them their own series…(THE MAYFAIR MISSES 2015/16).

But that was it! Finito! Except yesterday, as I was writing A SINFUL TEMPTATION, Book 3 in the SINS & SCANDALS SERIES, a certain Miss Cosgrove entered the picture and heavens…this woman has a story too!

So what should have only been a few of a books has now morphed into enough series and off-shoots to keep me busy well into 2017. It has also led me to the realization that there is no such thing as just ‘one-of’ where my brain is concerned.

~ Kelly

Coming Soon!

Subscribe to my Newsletter

* indicates required

Awesome Romance Novels